Rogers County was founded prior to Oklahoma statehood when the Arkansas Band of the Osage Nation settled in the Three Forks area (the junction of the Arkansas River, Grand River and Verdigris River) during the 1760s and established two villages called Pasuga and Pasona in what is now Rogers County. The county was officially founded prior to statehood on January 26, 1907 and was originally named Cooweescoowee. However, residents protested the name and the county was renamed Rogers after Clement (Clem) Vann Rogers, a mixed heritage Cherokee rancher and father of Will Rogers.

Add to Report View Custom Report